Early Years Foundation Stage

Our curriculum in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) meets the requirements of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.
“It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s “school readiness” and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school life” (Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage).

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our curriculum, with all areas being important and inter-connected.
Prime Areas
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal and social development
Specific Areas
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We follow  'Planning in the Moment', responding to children’s needs and interests of our children. Staff are skilled at ensuing they cover the EYFS curriculum through children's interests.

Our curriculum involves activities and experiences for children, as follows:
  • Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.
  • Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.
Based on the three prime and four specific areas of learning, our curriculum builds upon children’s current levels of development, their interests and previous experiences, leading them towards the Early Learning Goals by the end of the reception year.